The NYPD Shomrim Society hosted the 97th Annual Louis Weiser Memorial Service Scholarship and Awards Presentation on Sunday, October 23. The celebration served as an opportunity for solemn reflection, as the NYPD Shomrim Society honored the memory of extraordinary people by recognizing the unparalleled work of some of the most impressive leaders in law enforcement.

The event honored 24 members of the Shomrim Society who gave their lives in the line of duty. The Asser Levy Award, honoring a member of the Shomrim Society for Outstanding Service, was posthumously presented to NYPD Detective Mordecai Zev Dzikansky – dubbed the “Terrorist Cop” thanks to his honorable career and post in Israel as a member of the NYPD Intelligence Bureau. The Lt. Otto Raphael Award, presented to members of the NYPD who are not members of the NYPD Shomrim Society, was presented to Deputy Inspector William Gallagher, honorably serving as the Commanding Officer of Central Park Precinct, and President of the NYPD American Legion 460, representing US Military Veterans who are members of the NYPD.

The Person of the Year Award was presented to Nassau County Lt. Shevy Berkovits. Berkovits is the immediate Past President of the NCPD Shomrim Society, and the 30th Recipient of Nassau County Police Medal of Valor, the department’s highest honor.

The Maimonides Award was presented to the NYPD Family Assistance Section for their unparalleled work supporting members of the service and their families. Scholarships were presented to rising scholars Jonathan Neumann, a member of the NYPD Auxiliary Police, and Alessandra Kandinov.

NYPD Shomrim Society President Philip Weisbord thanked the many attendees and shared a heartfelt reminder that the sacrifices made by those who served are never in vain. May the memory of those we have lost forever be a blessing.